For Immediate Release

Wheat Organizations Support Congressional Call for Comprehensive Market Access in TPP

Washington, D.C. — U.S. Wheat Associates (USW) and the National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG) are very pleased that 140 members of Congress urged President Barack Obama this week to pursue a high standard, 21st Century Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) agreement.In a letter to the President, a bipartisan group of members expressed deep concern that Japan is seeking to exempt numerous tariff lines from complete tariff elimination under the agreement, including on wheat and wheat product imports. Allowing Japan or other TPP member countries to claim numerous exceptions for sensitive products opens the door for other countries to do the same, a situation that could unravel the talks and threaten the completion of a comprehensive agreement.

The Trans-Pacific Partnership was proposed as an ambitious model for all future U.S. free trade agreements. A weak TPP agreement would negatively affect our ability to reach acceptable agreements with the European Union in the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP) negotiations.

USW and NAWG agree with the members of Congress who urged President Obama to hold Japan to the same high standards envisioned by other TPP partners. If Japan, Canada or other negotiating parties fail to provide meaningful agricultural market access in the agreement, we too believe TPP negotiations should be suspended with them until they are ready to conclude a truly comprehensive agreement.


About NAWG

NAWG is the primary policy representative in Washington D.C. for wheat growers, working to ensure a better future for America’s growers, the industry and the general public. NAWG works with a team of 20 state wheat grower organizations to benefit the wheat industry at the national level. From their offices on Capitol Hill, NAWG’s staff members are in constant contact with state association representatives, NAWG grower leaders, Members of Congress, Congressional staff members, Administration officials and the public.