For Immediate Release

NAWG Announces 2022 Wheat Leader of the Year Award to Rep. David Scott

Contact: Mariah Wollweber, 202-547-7800

Washington, D.C. (February 6, 2023) — The National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG)
awarded Rep. David Scott (D-GA-13) with its 2022 Wheat Leader of the Year Award for his work
as Chair of the House Agriculture Committee during the 117 th Congress. NAWG President Nicole
Berg presented the award to Rep. Scott during a recent visit to Washington, DC.

“We appreciate all the work Rep. Scott does on behalf of wheat farmers and are proud to
present him with the 2022 Wheat Leader of the Year Award,” said President Berg. “I was
honored to testify before the full House Agriculture Committee and two separate
subcommittees last year as the committee sought to review 2018 Farm Bill programs. Rep.
Scott and his staff have been steadfast advocates for wheat growers by granting us a seat at the
table as he and the committee work to form policies and programs that work for wheat

The award is given annually by NAWG to one Member of Congress based on their
demonstrated commitment to the well-being and goals of the wheat industry. It is the wheat
industry’s highest legislative award.

NAWG also presented six other Members of Congress with its Wheat Advocate Award for their
support for the wheat industry that goes above and beyond the norm.

  • Senator Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)
  • Senator John Boozman (R-AR)
  • Congressman Glenn “GT” Thompson (R-PA-15)
  • Congressman Frank Lucas (R-OK-3)
  • Congresswoman Kim Schrier (D-WA-8)
  • Congressman Tracey Mann (R-KS-1)

NAWG congratulates and thanks our award recipients for supporting wheat growers across the
United States.

About NAWG

NAWG is the primary policy representative in Washington D.C. for wheat growers, working to ensure a better future for America’s growers, the industry and the general public. NAWG works with a team of 20 state wheat grower organizations to benefit the wheat industry at the national level. From their offices on Capitol Hill, NAWG’s staff members are in constant contact with state association representatives, NAWG grower leaders, Members of Congress, Congressional staff members, Administration officials and the public.