For Immediate Release

Marshall Secures Victory in Primary Over Incumbent Huelskamp

Washington, D.C. – Last night, Dr. Roger Marshall from Kansas’ First district won the primary against three-term incumbent Rep. Tim Huelskamp, after a closely-followed race. Marshall, endorsed by the National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG) and several other national and state agriculture groups, won with 57 percent of the vote to secure himself the candidacy. Marshall’s victory in the primary is an important step forward in reclaiming a House Agriculture Committee seat for Kansas’ First district. The “Big First” is the largest wheat-producing Congressional district in the country but has not had a voice there in nearly four years.

“Marshall’s victory in this primary is emblematic of the desire for true agriculture representation in Washington, D.C.,” says NAWG Vice President and Kansas’ First district farmer David Schemm. “He has demonstrated that he can work with Kansas farmers, listen to our needs, and be our effective advocate in Congress. NAWG looks forward to the opportunity to work with Dr. Marshall to secure a seat on the House Ag Committee, because the current fragile farm economy illustrates how important a functional Farm Bill is to rural America. We are thrilled to have backed a candidate who understands the needs of Kansas’ and U.S. wheat farmers and shown that he is willing to do even more for them in the upcoming Farm Bill.”

NAWG congratulates Marshall on his victory and looks forward to continuing to support him in the general election in his bid for the First district seat.

About NAWG

NAWG is the primary policy representative in Washington D.C. for wheat growers, working to ensure a better future for America’s growers, the industry and the general public. NAWG works with a team of 20 state wheat grower organizations to benefit the wheat industry at the national level. From their offices on Capitol Hill, NAWG’s staff members are in constant contact with state association representatives, NAWG grower leaders, Members of Congress, Congressional staff members, Administration officials and the public.