PRESS RELEASE: Wheat Growers Name Montana Senator Steve Daines as Wheat Leader of the Year

Washington, D.C. (February 09, 2018) – Today, the National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG) officially recognized Senator Steve Daines (MT-R) as the 2017 Wheat Leader of the Year. NAWG President and Outlook, Montana farmer Gordon Stoner, presented Senator Daines with the Wheat Leader of the Year award yesterday.

“In my home state of Montana, wheat farmers not only put food on our plates, but are one of the leading drivers of our local economy,” said Daines. “I am committed to continuing to support America’s wheat growers so they can feed our nation and compete on the world stage.”

The Wheat Leader of the Year Award is given annually by NAWG to one member of Congress, regardless of party affiliation, whose philosophy and records demonstrate their commitment to the well-being of America’s wheat farmers. It is the wheat industry’s highest legislative award.

MGGA President Michelle Erickson-Jones said, “The Montana Grain Growers Association has enjoyed a tremendous working relationship with Senator Daines over the years. He has shown his dedication to Montana grain producers as he pursued a crucial seat on the Senate Agriculture Committee, supported increased trade opportunities, and worked tirelessly to reduce burdensome regulations and lower taxes. We are proud to honor and highlight his work on behalf of our producers with the 2017 Wheat Leader of the Year award.”

“We appreciate all the work Senator Daines does on behalf of the nation’s wheat farmers and are proud to present him with the 2017 Wheat Leader of the Year Award,” stated NAWG President Gordon Stoner. “His commitment to working with wheat farmers and his ongoing efforts to help improve our industry, makes Senator Daines truly deserving of this award.”



About NAWG
NAWG is the primary representative in Washington D.C. for wheat growers, working to ensure a better future for America’s growers, the industry and the general public. NAWG works with a team of 20 state wheat grower organizations to benefit the wheat industry at state and national levels. From their offices in the Wheat Growers Building on Capitol Hill, NAWG’s staff members are in constant contact with state association representatives, NAWG grower leaders, Members of Congress, Congressional staff members and the public.