PRESS RELEASE: NAWG Responds to Bayer’s Announcement to Settle Pending RoundUp Lawsuits

For Immediate Release

Contact: Caitlin Eannello, 202.547.7800

 NAWG Responds to Bayer’s Announcement to Settle Pending RoundUp Lawsuits

Washington, D.C. (June 24, 2020) – Today, Bayer issued a statement announcing that it has decided to settle thousands of U.S. lawsuits around the company’s Roundup® products.

NAWG President and Michigan farmer Dave Milligan made the following statement in response:

“Glyphosate, the active ingredient in Roundup, has been on the market for more than 40 years and has undergone some of the most extensive worldwide human health, safety and environmental scientific reviews.

“The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) recently concluded its regulatory review of glyphosate, reaffirming that ‘there are no risks of concern to human health when glyphosate is used according to the label and that it is not a carcinogen.’

“Wheat growers work every day to produce a safe, affordable crop that balances crop rotation, input costs, production goals, and improvement of natural resources to protect the long-term sustainability of their farming operation. To achieve this goal, growers need all available tools at their disposal including glyphosate.

“Glyphosate is an exceptional product, relied on by many wheat growers including those working to implement conservation tillage practices and cover crops into their operations.

“NAWG acknowledges that in these settlements, Bayer has not admitted fault and has reiterated that glyphosate is not a carcinogen.”

About NAWG
NAWG is the primary policy representative in Washington D.C. for wheat growers, working to ensure a better future for America’s growers, the industry and the general public. NAWG works with a team of 20 state wheat grower organizations to benefit the wheat industry at the national levels. From their offices on Capitol Hill, NAWG’s staff members are in constant contact with state association representatives, NAWG grower leaders, Members of Congress, Congressional staff members, Administration officials and the public.